Navigation
spacer
Independent Bookworm
Stories for the Young and the Young at Heart
request information, get an eBook
NavigationNavigationNavigation

spacerKontakt
spacerImpressum
spacerBooksAuthorsPlay & Fun
Paralan's Children

Paralan's Children

Katharina Gerlach

published November 2013
written 2003/2004
YA Fantasy

Kindle eBook
paperback

 

Für Fantasy Fans von 12 bis 99 Jahre

Fresh from the academy, ambitious Galaktipol officer Vera Staven has been transferred to the only human settlement on the ice planet Paralan. Aside from smuggling, crimes are rare and the suicide rate is high. But something at the latest find nags at Vera, although no clues indicate it’s anything but a suicide.

When native Galaktipol officer Joloran Durim Brunàhgan meets the mother of his wee-ones for the yearly egg-opening feast, he doesn’t know he’s facing the worst case of his career. The next morning, fifteen Paralan wee-ones went missing, girls only. A catastrophe for the natives. Joloran hurls himself into the investigation, but he can’t get the murder of two wee-ones out of his mind that he couldn’t solve many years ago.

Paralan and humans harbor prejudices, making it hard for Joloran to follow all clues. Against his will, his superior requests support from the humans. POK Vera Staven is assigned to him, the only woman in the human Galaktipol station on Paralan. And time is running out. With every passing day, the probability of finding the wee-ones alive shrinks. But only as a team, Joloran and Vera might have a chance. Can they overcome their prejudices and cooperate, or will they find these children disemboweled in the icy wilderness of the planet’s far side too?

This book is DRM-free. DRM is a form of encoding than makes it impossible to legally use an eBook on other eReaders. Since I don't want to patronize my readers, I am not using DRM. This way, everyone who buys one of my eBooks can convert it with a program like Calibre (free of charge) into the format supported by his/her eReader.

 

A Few Words by the Author

The science in this book is mostly biology since I studied forestry not physics (do I hear you sigh with relief?). I tried to weave it in as unobtrusively as possible, but one or two explanations were needed. Please forgive me. Since this book can be considered "soft" SciFi, I hope that many Fantasy-lovers will enjoy it too.

spacer

Please activate JavaScript or you will not be able to use all features of this website.

Navigation
spacer
Independent Bookworm
Geschichten für Kinder, Jugendliche und Junggebliebene
kostenlos informieren, eBook kassieren
NavigationNavigationNavigation

spacerKontakt
spacerImpressum
spacerBücherAutorenSpiel & Spaß
Paralans Kinder

Paralans Kinder

Katharina Gerlach

veröffentlicht November 2013
geschrieben 2003/2004
Fantasy Jugendbuch

Kindle eBook
Taschenbuch bei Amazon

 

Für Fantasy Fans von 12 bis 99 Jahre

Frisch von der Akademie ist die ehrgeizige Galaktipol Offizierin Vera Staven in die einzige menschliche Siedlung auf dem Eisplaneten Paralan versetzt worden. Außer Schmuggel sind Verbrechen selten und die Selbstmordrate hoch. Doch bei dem neuesten Fund kommt Vera einiges seltsam vor, auch wenn es keinerlei Anzeichen gibt, dass es sich nicht um einen Selbstmord handelt.

Als sich der einheimische Galaktipol Offizier Joloran Durim Brunàhgan mit der Mutter seiner Kinder zum jährlichen Eiöffnungsfest trifft, ahnt er nicht, dass ihm der schlimmste Fall seiner Karriere bevorsteht. Am nächsten Morgen fehlen fünfzehn paralanische Kinder, alles Mädchen. Eine Katastrophe für die Einheimischen. Joloran stürzt sich mit Feuereifer in die Ermittlungen, auch um den Mord an zwei Kindern zu verdrängen, den er vor vielen Jahren nicht aufklären konnte.

Doch Paralaner und Menschen begegnen einander mit Vorurteilen, und so hat es Joloran schwer, allen Spuren zu folgen. Gegen seinen Willen fordert seine Vorgesetzte Unterstützung von den Menschen an. Ihm wird POK Vera Staven zugeteilt, die einzige Frau der Galaktipol Station auf Paralan. Und die Zeit drängt. Mit jedem Tag, der verstreicht, sinkt die Wahrscheinlichkeit die paralanischen Kinder lebend wiederzufinden. Doch nur als Team haben Joloran und Vera eine Chance. Können beide ihre Vorurteile überwinden und sich rechtzeitig zusammenraufen, oder werden sie auch diese Kinder ausgeweidet in den eisigen Weiten der Sonnen abgewandten Seite des Planeten finden?

DRM-frei DRM ist eine Form der Verschlüsselung, die eine legale Benutzung des eBooks auf anderen Lesegeräten unmöglich macht. Da ich meinen LeserInnen keine Steine in den Weg legen will, verzichte ich auf DRM. So kann jeder, der ein Exemplar meiner eBooks gekauft hat, sie mit einem Programm wie Calibre (kostenlos) in das Format umwandeln, das er/sie braucht.

 

Rezensionen

Kreativ und außerordentlich charmant! Julia Mayer
Tolle Ideen, schnelle Wendungen und eine starke Story. Paulaner 1

spacer

Bitte aktivieren Sie JavaScript da sonst nicht alle Seiten funktionieren.